Search More Movie Review

Custom Search

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

"The Lovely Bones" 2009

I have to say this has to be one of the best movies I have seen. Drama is really not my type of Genre, but this one I has some suspense to it. The Graphic Fantasy visual effects was really great, but what really was awesome is the story and meaning behind it. I don't remember when was the last drama movie I saw that made me a little eyed teary, I guess Im checkin my other Blog movie review.
A short introduction of the movie:
About an ordinary girl on her way home from school and was murdered in December 1973.
Susie(The main Character) was trapped in this "In-Between" fantasy place where she's able to see and observe all the stuff that she left on earth. She watched her family, mom and dad, Grandma, her murder mystery, her crush, and her murderer after her death.
Though the ending was kinda like a dissapointment for me with the pay-off from the murderer in the end, I was hoping it could be something more justice like electric chair or something for all the little girls she killed, But I guess a gruesome death is good enough. Well, This has the vibe of a family drama, so I guess high-school puppy love scene would suit to free her completely so I just have to suck it up..hehe.. And Of course, You can never bring a loved one back whatever you do, and we all must have to move on. I don't think "revenge" was the ideal focus in the story. In real life there are a lot of cases and stories that are unsolved.
Check out the trailer. It actually came out last year directed by Peter Jackson and also was on the book by Alice Sebold.

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Resident Evil "Afterlife" Review

I Finally saw Resident Evil "Afterlife" last weekend. I very much liked it. Lovin the 3D as well. Well to be honest, Im a big fan of Resident Evil Games and other stuff so even if it comes out mediocre type movie I would still give it a lot of credit for making it to the big screen. Mila Jovovich is awesome like always. Im thinking maybe they should put Angelina Jolie next time as one of the characters from the game who hasn't appeared yet in the movie like "Ada Wong". ANyways, I saw a couple of familiar Villains and creatures like the big guy with the Big Axe, and the Zombies with stuff coming out of their mouth, and of course "Wesker" with that "Neo"Matrix look. Also "Chris Redfield" before I forgot as one of the good guys. Some of the Action secquence look Matrixish like with the bullets and slow mos, well I guess its not just all about matrix. Overall, I would give this movie an 8 out of 10. I guess I was expecting more actions and lots of extra stuff, but really im satisfied. Looking for the next one.. I can't wait.

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

"Case 39" 2009

I saw this movie Couple of weeks ago Actually and forgot to make a short review.
This movie came out last year. One of my friend lend me the DVD to watch it.
Since I like horror and suspense movie, of course I didnt hesitate to go see it.
The Story is about a Family Social Service Worker Emily Jenkins(Renee Zellweger) who seems to have seen it all. She met this 10 year old girl Lilith Sullivan(Jodelle Ferland) and the child's cruel parents. Little she know about the family, she folled her instinct and made tremendous efforts to save lily from the seemingly dangerous vibe she feels from parents. She took care of Lily while they search for a perfect foster family to move on. Little did she know, She help ignite a very dark supernatural force surrounding the kid and the greater horror had just begun...
The movie was good, it sorta kept me on the edge of my seat for a bit. The movie has a very good twist as it progress. What I like about this movie is the image and visualization they portray that leaves me wondering and imagining stuff. I have seen many Horror movies in the past, but this one still gives me the thrill ride while watching it, Even though some part/scenes on this one haved already played to my expectations of what is about to happen.I actually watched it twice, the reason is I wanted to kinda scare my friend, and it didnt work.

Saturday, August 28, 2010

Resident Evil "Afterlife" and The Last Exorcism

There are two movies I must see this coming month which is the Resident Evil 'Afterlife" and The Last Exorcism.
Resident Evil movies seems not to dissapoint me even though they change the story line from the game which a lot of other movies that comes from the video games does.
Maybe its because they bringing all the charaters and villains that I see from the actual game even though its not in particular order like in the game.
I remember buying a PlayStation 2 system so that I could play resident Evil 4, that shows how much I like this movie.
the next one coming up is gonna be on 3D. here's the trailer. I am going to the IMAX theater on this one.

and here's the trailer for The Last Exorcism...this trailer looks really scary, but from what I heard and read from other people's reviews, it is a waist of money. Even though I've been warned, I still would like to go and see it since Exorcist movies always freaks me out. Hopefully it wont be as bad as what many people have said. I was suppose to see this movie last night with my girl and my friends, but the theater that we were near at in NYC is not showing it.

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

SALT - 2010 movie review

I did a post before regarding the trailer for this movie. As I had mention the trailer looks very interesting and it look like it has a good story plots and twist.
As Expected, It came with a good plot and unexpected twist. I guess I could compare this movie to "Bourne Ultimatum", the girl version..hehe..I always want to see Angelina Jolie on Action pack movies. She's such a great actress. The last movie she did was "Wanted" became one of my favorites of all time.
I recommend this for everyone who likes to watch guessing games and mind thrilling action movies. However, besides all the positive reviews I give, some part or scenes to sorta have that unreal feel like when she jump side to side on the elevator while its going down or when she beat down all four guys at the same time. Im pretty sure it's possible with all the proper training and technique and I always like to see Angelina kick ass. I guess that's what the movie is suppose to do, to bring unreal to reality for us to imagine and enjoy to watch.
Overall, I very much like this movie because Angelina Jolie is in it,..LOL, because of the sexy action stuff, and the plots and twists that keeps you guessing.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010


Just saw this movie on cable last night before I went to sleep. I have to say, I almost gave up on modern dance movies since most of them are so cheezy trying to bring up the hardcore lifestyle in the street to the big screen...LOL..I think the general public media and hollywood always had the wrong approach and understanding of what dancers go through or the lifestyle specifically the bboys and bgirls on this one, Almost to the point that I don't care anymore..haha
But after watching this I have to say I was actually surprised. My expectations were very low to begin with, but I wanted to give it a shot since its a "break dancing" movie..hehe, I knew some of the names of the people, have seen some in person, the trailer looks somewhat realistic, and since Im a bboy myself, I need to check this out. I believe this is a low-budget film, but that doesnt stop a good movie production. I want to make my own movie now...LOL
The story was great, and it has a good amount of sense of capturing and showing the expressions and visions of a bboy/bgirl. The battle in the end was cool too.
Overall, I'll give this movie an 8.5 out 10. Is there a B-boy movie coming out anytime soon?
Lady Jules the main Character, In my opinion is one of the best bgirls out there not basing it on the movie.

Monday, July 19, 2010

M Night Shyamalan - DEVIL Trailer

Just saw another movie Trailer, my blog should just be about movie trailer reviews...LOL, I havent really seen any new movies, but I have a feeling I will see some of the upcoming ones. Anyway, Check out this "DEVIL" movie by M Night Shyamalan. The trailer looks really something, and I feel like i'Ve known the whole story just by watching the clip. I assume that the plot or twist for this movie is something that majority is familiar with unless insane twist like that movie "Orphan"..who wouldve guessed?...This one reminds me of that old reality show "The Mole"..LOL..It gives you a sense of the question to find "Which one among Us". I believe there has been similar to these plots in a different setting. But I like this kind of movies because it keeps you guessing till the movie is finished. Plus M Night Shyamalan in my opinion make good interesting movies.

Sunday, July 11, 2010

Paranormal Activity 2 The Movie

The second movie of Paranoral Activity is Back. The first movie caused a lot of buzzes and hyped last year when it came out.
All of my friends and co-workers has the same reviews, "it was Scary".Haha
Honestly, It didn't really bug me to the point that I can't sleep, but it made me wonder what would happen and left me imagining stuff.
I would go see this movie since the last one was good and it was worth the money,lol.
Plus the trailer seems to have more ideas to scare people on the story. I just hope that they don't spoil and over do it since the first one was great.

The movie Paranormal Activity 2 is directed by Tod Kip Williams. But Oren Peli who directed the first film is still attached as producer.

Sunday, July 4, 2010

"The Shutter Island" the movie

First of ALL, Happy 4th of July Everyone!!!! After watching "Avatar" on DVD, I felt like I needed to watch another film. SO i went to look for something that's horror, suspense, or maybe some thriller. I came across "Shutter Island". I heard some reviews from the radio station last year, and there was postive and negative feedbacks from the hosts. So I guess, let's try watching this one.
I would have to say this movie is more of a drama to me than more of a thriller after the whole ending and learning the story behind it. Maybe a little suspense here and there, or maybe it just didn't work for me...whatever.
I would give a lot of Kudos to the Plot twist, since it has excellent creativeness to an extent. you would have to pick a side, wait for the movie to finish and be proven right or wrong. ALso the dreamlike illusion effect, to describe a certain past was cool too.
Anyway the story is about two federal marshall called up to the island that provides housing for the criminally insane as a psychiatric institute. They were called to Island due to a recent dissapearance of one of the prisoner that vanished out of her like a bubble. As they asked questions around, things becomes suspicious of the people that work there. They start to wonder if they are the one investigating the actual crime or they are ones being investigated.

Friday, July 2, 2010

Avatar 2009

I'm probably way behind with this one, haha. I just saw this movie yesterday on "DVD" and I was blown away with the Special effects. I wish I could've seen it on 3D or in the theaters. I would've have goosebumps, Haha. It was really amazingly beautiful. WHen I was watching the trailer, I kinda assume the story, but then again, it was a lot different from what I have thought. It's kinda similar to the idea of the matrix with the body switching but completely different. Its gonna take long on my side to explain, I'm not gonna bother. Plus the story has something to do with History and bringing the peace back to equality with freedom or something close to that idea.
James Cameron is the Director of this movie, He's one of the greatest as we all know in our generation. A lot of props to the special effects, its breathtaking and think those were my favorite parts which is seeing the nature.
All the Actors were awesome too.
It should win a lot of awards. Its really worth seeing this movie. One of the best in our lfetime.
The last movie I saw that I really like was "Slumdog Millionaire".then this one.

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Kill Bill 3 Release 2014!

I found this video yesterday of Quentin Tarantino officially announcing the making of the movie KIll bill 3...apparently this was from last im a little late about the news.
here it is:

Does he have any history of saying things about projects and ended up not making it? not sure...who excited...its one of my favorite movie of all time. Im a big fan...I heard it took him ten years to do the first kill bill..thats crazy.
I wonder what will happen with the story since almost everyone from the last volumes were dead. Maybe Vernita green's daughter Nikki will take the revenge(after all its a story of revenge)...Black mamba's daughter will step up too, Elle Driver might become a blind fighting machine..hehe. There could be more prediction and speculations later just excited to hear that there will be kill bill volume 3...I just assume that Quentin will take this up another level since he really have that vibe of knowing how to work out his collaborative-imagination.

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Haunting in Connecticut(2009)

I saw this movie last year at the Theaters, and saw it again on cable couple of nights ago. The movie was actually a true Story. The house use to be a funeral Parlor with Disturbing history and inconceivable acts performed providing gateways to spiritual entities.. I remember first watching the documentary on Discovery Channel. That version was actually scary and kinda got me thinkin about it for days. I would give it an 8 out 10. It wasn't really that bad. I guess it would be a lot scarier if I didnt know the story already to begin with so I won't have much of expectations. the Special effect was good...when that thing came out of the boys felt kinda gross and disgusting.

here is a link to the documentary:

here's the trailer from last year.

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

50 Great Works of Literature You Should At Least Watch on Film

hhmm, I haven't blog about movies in a minute because I haven't seen any lately...LOL
Anyway I came across this topic last week about Classic Stuff, I would say in Literature. Great Stories that was put on Film. I found this list on another blog.
Some of the films on the list I have seen on my high School days on Literature class and actually read the book before watching the movie. Some I just saw in the Theaters like "Lord of the Rings" and "Chronicles of Narnia".
I've only seen quite a few so I put an X on the ones that i have watched so far.
Check it out, see if you remember something that's not on the list.
For example, I think Harry Potter should be in

Lord of the Flies
Of Mice and Men
East of Eden
The Odyssey
Heart of Darkness
Frankenstein (X)
The Hunchback of Notre Dame (X)
A Farewell to Arms
The Scarlet Letter
The Good Earth
The Last of the Mochicans
Love in the Time of Cholera
A Clockwork Orange
Count of Monte Cristo
The Postman Always Rings Twice
The Color Purple
The Lord of the Rings (X)
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
Sophie’s Choice
All the King’s Men
To Kill a Mockingbird (X)
Gone with the Wind
The Great Gatsby (X)
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
Remains of the Day
Howards End
Vanity Fair
Sense and Sensibility
Wuthering Heights
The Crucible
Hamlet (X)
The Importance of Being Earnest
Romeo and Juliet (X)
A Streetcar Named Desire
No Country for Old Men
The Joy Luck Club (X)
Girl, Interrupted (X)
The Shipping News
The English Patient (X)
Alice in Wonderland (X)
Charlotte’s Web
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
The Chronicles of Narnia (X)

For more information on each of these titles...Check out this link.

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Street fighter - The legend of Chun - li

Short Summary:

As the Street Fighter saga celebrates its 20th anniversary, fight fans are invited to follow along with fearsome fighter Chun-Li as she faces off against a series of formidable opponents in this feature adaptation of the popular video-game franchise directed by Exit Wounds' Andrzej Bartkowiak. Previously adapted for the screen in the 1994 Jean-Claude Van Damme film, the series continues to thrive as eager gamers across the globe go toe-to-toe to determine who is the most skilled and powerful warrior in the video-game universe.
On the streets of Bangkok, crime boss Bison instigates a wave of violence in the slum districts, grabbing power and land no matter what the costs to its residents. His ruthless tactics are met by a team of heroes consisting of Chun-Li, a half-Caucasian/half-Asian beauty who gave up a life of privilege to become a street fighter, battling for those who cannot fight for themselves; her kung fu master, Gen, once a feared criminal, who now fights for the forces of good; Interpol cop Charlie Nash, who has tracked the crime boss all over the world, and Nash's partner, gangland homicide detective Maya Sunee.

My review:
This movie did not really reach my expectation...I have to give this movie a 5 out of 10...I didnt want to see this on theaters last year because I was warned that its a waste of time and money, sounds kinda harsh...but I guess I got that mssg. right. I've been a fan of Street Fighter ever since - part of Childhood the game first came out back in the day, it has about 8 to 12 main characters..and I pretty much know each of those character's story by instinct.
There was a Street Fighter movie that came out in 1994 i think and that movie was old school but better than this one. I just watched some clips of it youtube and just to bring back som memories...haha..
Sometimes I think that gamers are hard to please when it comes to putting the games on film...But with these types of movies I suggest to stick with the real Adaptations from the game instead of makin up some new Stuff...I can unerstand with the cosstume and clothings/uniforms, It would look kinda stupid wearing boxing gloves, capes, Sparring gears, etc. while walking in the streets fighting
Little things bother while watching the movie such as vegas mask was to big for his face, he got beat in like less than a minute, but then again in the game he was one of the best villain fighters. There wasnt a lot of action on this film either,.Plus they were fighting Guns and Arsenals..when Street fighter is never really about that from the beginning...I want to see lots of martial arts fights.
I think the producers of this film is trying to reach out to the new generation of audience - all ages...but with gamers it would never work. They know the roots of the game and story.
Im also wondering if the producers ever played Street fighter or finish playing the the characters in the game...well just a thought
I hope that the next sequel for this would at least improve its special effect and make it an action packed movie...keepin the expectatio med.
still think its an ok film, plenty of ways to please the new generation.
Maybe the game would be much suited for anime type movies.

Your Ad Here